The Future Of Duck Game

The rumor is that Warner may make all Adult Swim Games games unavailable in May. It’s still not totally clear whether or not that’s happening, but some devs have already been notified that their games will be removed which is depressing, and scary. It’s a particularly confusing kind of scary for those of us who haven’t gotten any notice yet.

I wanna talk about Adult Swim Games before anything else. We met at PAX West in like 2013 through my friend Andrew, whose had a few games published by them and seems likely to be in the same boat. They seemed really awesome, so once the time came to start porting Duck Game to Steam I decided to ask for their help. All the ASG people in the Duck Game credits played a huge role in making DG the game it is today, and there are very few names in that list which don’t bring a face and a whole wonderful and passionate person to mind. The only few that don’t are the names I don’t recognize. Everyone at ASG was like a friend and we talked and played DG together constantly. They where as dedicated to the game as I was and their producers/marketing people where constantly working to hustle the game and get it in front of as many people as they could. The testers played the game into the ground every time a new build was pushed and they where always showing up in multiplayer lobbies whenever a new update/port came out. They always brought the game to shows, always invited me and treated me like family at every second. They even invited me out to their offices a few times and flew me both to London and to Austin so I could work on the game directly with the porting teams. They would always send somebody along and the times we spent hanging out making games in different countries are some of the best times I’ve had.

This is all stuff I took for granted, but from what I’ve seen it’s an extremely lucky thing to have a publisher with people who care so much about what they’re working on and I didn’t know how good I had it. I don’t want to mention anyone specifically because my memory sucks and I’m bound to forget someone and make some mistakes but I dearly miss working with the old ASG folks and I hope we can meet again someday.

It’s funny how things change. Funny in that fucked up kind of way like when you’re laughing out of madness because life is the funniest joke. I’d always been weary of working with bigger companies and with ASG I thought I had finally found one worth trusting, but the mistake was assuming that forever trustworthy people make a forever trustworthy company. They don’t, and they can’t, because no matter how good a company is today there’s always a chance that the people will change, that the company will go bankrupt or get swallowed up, and that any agreements you made with them will slurp down into the shit pit. None of the amazing people who worked at ASG are to blame, but the fact is that those people where ASG to me, so without them ASG has become a frightening corporate puppet and Duck Game has lost the delicate care of it’s previous keepers.

In the midst of the drowning splash of this big stinky unfeeling mega steamer, what happens now? For some games the future is unclear and I really hope that everyone comes out of this with their own best case scenarios, or that at the very least they get their games back. Luckily for Duck Game, since when I first signed ASG had such honest people with such reasonable contracts, there seem to be a lot of options and possible futures for it.

One simple future is that DG doesn’t end up getting delisted at all. That one’s easy, everything stays the same and I can start feeling the full shame and regret of worrying any of you with the possibility that DG might be affected (Sorry…) The other, better, simple future would be that another publisher buys the contract and takes the reigns. As much as I’d like to get the game free of the possibility of something like this ever happening again, ASG’s considerate support was absolutely priceless over DG’s development and the support of another publisher who I respect and trust would help move things along more smoothly in the future (anyone who reads this blog knows how slow and unreliable I can be on my own).

Another future would be that DG is delisted, and Warner extends the same option to DG that was offered to the other games which have been notified so far, the gist of which sounds like: “We’re delisting your game and not giving you back your store page, but you’re free to remove ASG branding and republish to a new steam page if you’d like.” This is obviously a shitty future, but it’s not the worst one. This future assumes that delisting means people who previously owned the game would still have it, you just wouldn’t be able to buy it anymore (this is what I believe delisting will mean). In this case I would republish DG under Corptron. The ideal result would be that I could still update the old version of the game to be identical to the new one, and make the old and new versions connect to each other and share online lobbies so people with different releases of the game don’t even notice. If I can’t update the old version, which is a more likely going to be a problem with Switch and PS4, or if I can’t otherwise give the new version to existing players for free, then Duck Game will have to be republished as a free game to avoid anyone having to rebuy something they already bought. Some people have said they’d be happy to rebuy DG and I seriously appreciate the kindness everyone has shown- but you won’t have to rebuy it, it’s absolutely not going to be like that.

The most bleak future (and I seriously don’t think this will happen, but let’s discuss it) would be that the game is delisted, removed from everyone’s libraries, and an email comes saying I can’t republish or otherwise do anything with the game (this is the ‘Send Us Your First Born Child At Your Earliest Convenience’ future). In this case, I talk to a lawyer right away to make sure my assumptions about my contract are correct. If everything checks out, the next update would be published as a new version of the game without ASG branding and with a different name. I would never sell one of my IP’s (and this is why you shouldn’t) so I’m free to make “Duck Game 2” or “Hyper Duck Game Chronicles Prequel: Beginnings of the Shattered Ends” and doing a Game Of The Year edition a month later which includes a one DLC “season pass” if I want to. In the meantime I should also be able to make the old game into “Duck Game Classic” and release it for free.

In the extra special “Why Do We Live” and deluxe “Let Me Die” editions of the future where Duck Game Classic is not allowed, everyone will probably switch over to playing Duck King 2- which will suspiciously appear shortly after Duck Game is obliterated from the universe.

I’m hopeful for the future. It’s been a crazy ride, and many of the best moments of my life have been adjacent to DG somehow. I’ve been so lucky up to this point, everyone has been so kind and understanding that I could cry. Thank you. Duck Game will be 10 years old on May 13th, and it’s going to show up to it’s own party. DG belongs to it’s players as much as it belongs to me, and it belongs to all the great people who used to work at the best game publisher I could ever ask for. There’s no way anything will ever make it disappear, I will never stop updating it as long as my hands and eyes work and I’m sorry for scaring anybody in the heat of the news with my own fears otherwise.

I dreamed of this so long, this used to feel so strong…

Now I wait, wish these thoughts would go away.

I hope I dream of you, cause it’s taking my life away.

No, I don’t hate, but these thoughts won’t go away.

I hope I dream of you, cause it’s taking my life away.

-Taking My Life Away, Default

About superjoebob

I make video games and music. Sometimes I tweet: https://twitter.com/superjoebob ..... If you have questions, are having trouble with something I made or just wanna chat please tweet me or email me at my twitter user name @gmail.com Sometimes I can take a while to respond, sorry!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to The Future Of Duck Game

  1. koi says:

    fuck adult swimmmmmmm
    hope this ends in your favor landon

    • superjoebob says:

      Thank you ❤ everything is gonna work out. I should have been more clear in the post though, it’s Warner who is delisting the games I don’t think Adult Swim has anything to do with it. Changed the first bit to make that clear!

  2. Connor Lloyd says:

    Glad to hear it. I remember talking with you about duck game while on a stream a while back. Duck game is easily in my top 5 games of all time, and it’s clear you love it like a child (hopefully not the sacrificing kind). I hope for the brightest future for this game and you as well.

    • superjoebob says:

      Thanks man, I do love it but definitely in the way that I want to see it grow up and go to school and stuff. It’s sad that stuff like this can even be a possibility but DG will come out the other end.

  3. gyat says:

    i aint readin allat

  4. kikones34 says:

    I wish you the best, Duck Game has given me so many hours of pure fun and the world deserves the opportunity to keep playing it in the future!

  5. seg says:

    I’m so glad that a game I love has a dev like you. I got hundreds of hours and I’ve bought like a half dozen copies at this point, and it’s good to know it ain’t going anywhere. Wish you all the best for the future!

    • superjoebob says:

      Thanks dude, super appreciated but you should message me next time you need a key or something that’s too many copies!

      • nwunderly says:

        LOL, I’ve probably bought about 20 copies of the game at this point and have zero regrets (honestly, I’m so happy to see the game has a dev like you)

  6. AnthonyVCL says:

    landon u my goat don’t u ever forget, we gotchu dude

  7. lionempire16 says:

    FUCK WB YOU AINT TAKING MY BOY.

    In all seriousness, thank you Landon, Duck Game was the first game I ever got on steam, the game I probably have the most hours in playing with my friends at school, and it’s been one of my favourite games since I got it 7 years ago. Good luck with this whole shitty situation, the community is behind you 🫡

  8. H. says:

    Duck game is the best game ever created. We love u man.

    Be strong

  9. Belt_Bucket_TCB says:

    You’ve got this.

  10. J says:

    So, I am sure this is a drop in the ocean of other peoples experiences but I was first introduced to Duck Game by friends and friends of friends at a weekend away to catch up and game. We set up a projector and laptop in a static Caravan and sat playing Duck Game and having an amazing time full of insults, drinking and shouting. That tradition has carried on year on year and next month we will all meet up again and be playing it, thanks for providing the medium and thus the memories pal!

    P.S – Pretending to die and jumping up at the end is evil…. that is all.

    • superjoebob says:

      This makes me so happy, playing DG together in the same room is what it’s all about!! I always throw ragdolls off the map just incase and it’s always funny when you grab them and they start quacking and flailing. Thanks for playing and for sharing, I really appreciate it~

  11. SloopyJones says:

    Duuuude I first played Duck Game at the PAX West Adult Swim booth! I remember playing for so long with my buddies the people working the booth gave us a couple of House of Dead Ninjas keys to go away! Wish you all the best man, and I would 1000% pay for a new version, my Steam copy has paid for itself many times over in hours and sheer fun screaming at my friends and converting ducks to the mallard team.

    • superjoebob says:

      I remember that!! I felt bad that they made you go but it makes sense, everybody needs a turn lol. Didn’t you guys also come back later when the floor was closing or something? I miss the old PAX days, really hope to be able to bring the game to a show again- maybe for the next update. Thanks for playing ❤

  12. PP says:

    DUCKGAME FOREVER ❤ LANDON GOAT

  13. Bastian0930 says:

    Are you gonna put duck game on sale as a “hey lads this is the last time you can buy this, fyi” sale? I’m probably gonna purchase it full price - even know you’ve stated you still own the IP and may make another – I just wanna make sure me and a few friends get a copy of this. I’ve been eying this for a few years!

  14. ArmyteCel says:

    🔥🔥🔥+REP This post is brapalicious!🔥🔥🔥

  15. Sui says:

    I just want to thank you, my man, for the great game that changed my life (a bit, but anyway), I spent 1000 happy hours playing it,and I found many new friends here. I wish you all the best of luck and hope that DG will live forever, best multiplayer game and best community

  16. Dan says:

    Hell yeah, Duck Game! Forever!

  17. Harry says:

    Hello, could you self-publish Duck Game on GOG so that it will be preserved forever in any future scenario like Team2Bit did, for example? It’s my favorite store in any case, and many people who buy only there have never been able to play it.

    • superjoebob says:

      Would really like to do this! The tricky thing is that DG is a multiplayer game and it relies pretty heavily on Steam for that functionality. To allow GOG and Steam versions to play with each other I think I’d have to switch to a 3rd party matchmaking service, which I’d like to do anyway but it’ll be a bit of work to make it happen.

  18. Pingback: Beloved solo dev says game won’t disappear amid Warner delisting fears - Tatoble.com

  19. Thomas S. says:

    Duck game is love, duck game is life.

  20. Darm says:

    Your game has brought groups of friends incredible joy and the resilience and grace you’ve shown in this post is inspiring. Thanks for that!!!

  21. Dusty says:

    But WILL you actually update Switch? That is the question. Even if it came down to rebranding the game, I bet you’d leave Switch out and let it’s version disappear. It’s been broken and outdated this long and you’ve neglected to do anything with it.

    Duck Game is awesome, it really is. It brings hours of fun and laughter to me every week. But I choose to play on a platform that you’ve chosen to neglect. That is disheartening, especially reading about the passion you have for DG in your post.

    • superjoebob says:

      The Switch version will be updated one day, I’m really sorry that it’s been neglected up to this point 😦 Duck Game is being developed solely by myself, the publisher support I had with the PS4/Switch ports no longer exists and hasn’t existed for some time. The reason I updated the PS4 version first is because it was a rough and ancient port with many game breaking issues, and the Switch/PC versions where miles ahead of it in terms of content and quality. The Switch version was done by a team of people who where able to deal with a lot of the Nintendo backend details, and who are no longer working on the game. A lot has changed/been added on the Switch platform since DG came out on it and an update will require me to learn that backend and rewrite systems that are using the old APIs which is going to be a major undertaking. With these necessary changes the update is also going to require a serious amount of testing, and with no publisher support that in itself is a real stressor and will take a significant amount of time.

      For the sake of my friends and the sake of my own sanity I’ve been working on a new project for a few years in an attempt to overcome the burnout I’ve felt from DG 1.5 and rewriting the PS4 version, but my full intention is to divert attention from that to update the Switch version as soon as the future is more stable and clear. I can’t work fast on my own, but I promise you that it will happen even if it takes years… and I’m sorry that it’s taken years.

      • Dusty says:

        If you were to say it’s like updating a game from Android 4 to 14 I’d understand that, because Google really screwed developers there and most of the apps never got updated. I can’t see though how Switch could’ve evolved that much.

        Maybe don’t kill yourself trying to make it equal, how about just “better”? Cross play does not exist ATM either, so they don’t HAVE to be the same. Hell, even if it stays just 4 player, if that’s the issue, that’s cool. We want weapons, levels, BUG FIXES, and actual interest in the game on this platform. Duck Game v1.25 if you want. If you really do plan to get to 1.5, possibly in years, then give us something in between.

        I get on at 9pm sometimes and there’s not a single server running, or a single player to join me. That’s crazy that I could be the *only* person trying to play in the whole world.

        I commend you on your fine work, and creating this essentially by yourself is highly respectable. But the empty promises only go so far for most of us. A little goes a long way. Give us a little and it will mean a lot.

      • superjoebob says:

        Most of the time on any update will be spent getting used to the codebase again and updating to the current minimum SDK version. Serious testing will need to be done in any case, and since everything is so tightly integrated (levels need weapons, weapons need the updated codebase) a full update will actually take less time than cherry picking changes for a smaller update.

        We’re working on finding a publisher for Flatlanders right now and it’s at a critical point in it’s development that requires my full attention. I know that’s not fair, but people are relying on me for the new project and I can’t get away from it until we have it in a state where the team can work without me. I’ve been clear with Dayton that I plan to spend some time on Duck Game this year, we’ve been working together for a long time and he’s used to me randomly running off to update DG. I plan to update it this year, but things don’t always go to plan (especially when your publisher is laying off all your contacts) so rather than becoming a liar because of my naive optimism I find it’s better now not to say “soon” unless I know for sure.

        I get that you’re frustrated, I would be too and I’m ashamed and sorry even though I know those feelings don’t make updates. I promised the PS4 update for 5 years before it finally happened……. so it’s not an empty promise, but a shitty promise from a dev who is in over his head.

      • Belt_Bucket_TCB says:

        Rest assured that very few people are disappointed or upset with your output, regardless of any shortcomings. Be sure to take yourself above all others.

      • superjoebob says:

        Thank you! I get where Dusty is coming from though, the Switch version desperately needs an update 😦

  22. Pingback: 2024 - Der beliebte Solo-Entwickler sagt, dass das Spiel trotz der Befürchtungen, Warner werde von der Liste genommen, nicht verschwinden wird

  23. Not important says:

    If you’re going to have republish the game on Steam, it’s going to fuck over the workshop by splitting it between the old owners and new owners. Anyways, fuck Warner: Worst company ever.

    • superjoebob says:

      Good point, hoping if it comes to republishing that I can republish the new version as a “tool” for the original so it can use the same workshop. Already tested something like this for a workshop moderation tool I made and it seemed to work pretty well. Either way yeah, Warner sucks.

      • Not important says:

        Have you tried contacting Valve about this? As far as I know, if Steam thinks you don’t own the game the workshop is for, you can’t vote on items. There are probably some other features that are limited that might impact new users.

  24. Duck Game, a game about ducking ducks ducking under ducking ducks, trying to kill each other says:

    Duck Game is love, Duck Game is life. I agree that it’s been long coming, but I don’t blame you. I just love Duck Game, I hope all goes well, thank you so very much for being the creator of all those happy moments

  25. Joshua Chamberlain says:

    Your persistence is inspiring! I am sure things will work out for the best. I love your game and have introduced it to over 100 different people. Their quality of life is so much better now. haha. Keep at it my friend.

  26. EVGENY PROVODENKO says:

    If you submit a new Duck game 2 I in short buy it with pleasure and got some other friends which do the same. Good luck in your twists and turns.

  27. Schmavid says:

    If it came down to finding a new publisher, would Big Mode be a feasible choice? It’s VideoGameDunkey’s indie game publishing company place.

Leave a comment